Swaledale Cottages , North Yorkshire

Swaledale Cottages
Healaugh
Richmond
North Yorkshire
DL11 6UJ
Tel : 01748 884526
Website : http://www.swaledale-cottages.co.uk

Accreditations : Independent
Sleeps :

Specialist breaks : Walking, Caving / Potholing, Sight Seeing

Rate low season : £220 per week

Rate high season : £812 per week

Credit cards accepted ? :
Contact Us

About Swaledale Cottages - Self Catering Cottage Holidays


Swaledale Cottages are located on the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park. The oldest cottage of the three cottage dates back to the 18th Century and each offers high quality, individual accommodation.

THE BOTHY - sleeps 2
Situated over the old stone stable block of Thiernswood Hall, this cottage is a cosy converted tack room, an ideal honeymoon cottage. Accommodation consists of:

A lounge with splendid views over the valley,
Dining/kitchen,
Bathroom with bath/shower,
Double bedroom
Garage

THIERNSWOOD - sleeps 4

This is an outstanding cottage suitable for either a family or 2 couples. It is a fully modernised, traditional Dales cottage, built in the middle of the last century and set in the grounds of Thiernswood Hall. It has it's own enclosed garden, and nestles under a wooded hillside and is approached by a tree lined drive one third of a mile long. Accommodation comprises:

Lounge with an open fire,
Dining room,
Modern well-equipped kitchen,
Two bedrooms, both with en-suite facilities.

SWALE VIEW - sleeps 6
This lovely old period cottage was originally the Village Inn., it is in the small hamlet of Healaugh. The cottage has a sunny south facing position and a garden with a warm southern aspect. There are superb views up, down and across the valley from the property and its garden.

Swale View retains plenty of character, including a huge feature stone fireplace in the lounge and a delightful kitchen with an unusual dining alcove. Accommodation comprises:

Lounge,
Dining room,
Dining/kitchen,
Bathroom
Four bedrooms; a double bedroom with en-suite shower room and four poster bed, one twin bedroom plus two single bedrooms.
Garden


Please check owner's website for full spec.

Swaledale Cottages Facilities

Dishwasher
Microwave
Washing machine
Tumble dryer
tick
tick
tick
tick
Fridge
Freezer
Cooker
Games Room
tick
tick
tick
tick
Open Fire / Log Burner
Heating
Electricity included
Ensuite facilities
tick
tick
tick
tick
TV
DVD
Sky TV
WiFi
tick
tick
tick
tick
Towels provided
Bed linen provided
Disabled access
Ground floor bedrooms
tick
tick
tick
tick
Children welcome
High Chair
Baby Cot
Pets welcome
tick
tick
tick
tick
Parking
Swimming pool
Sauna / hot tub
Tennis court
tick
tick
tick
tick
Garden
BBQ
Beaches nearby
Pub nearby
tick
tick
tick
tick

Places To Visit

The area is essentially walking country and you will find much to enjoy as you tramp the heather moors, ford the streams or pause to admire the handiwork of dry stone wall builders.

Reeth is the main village in the centre of the Dale. It has a large village green surrounded by stone built houses, country shops, pubs and tea shops.

In the nearby village of Low Row you will be able to visit a working farm. Hazel Brow Farm is an ideal day out, especially for younger children.

Richmond is located at the foot of the Dale and boasts an impressive castle with a fine Norman Keep. It is also home of the Royal Georgian Theatre which is over 200 years old. The Green Howards Museum commemorates the origins of the oldest regiment in the British Army.

In Upper Swaledale, the unique Butter Tubs Pass leads through to Wensleydale.

Useful Links
Bolton Abbey www.boltonabbey.com
Harewood House www.harewood.org
Kiplin Hall www.kiplinhall.co.uk
Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
Skipton Castle www.skiptoncastle.co.uk
Raby Castle www.rabycastle.com
Bolton Castle www.boltoncastle.co.uk
Thorp Perrow Arboretum www.thorpperrow.com
Harlow Carr Gardens www.rhs.org.uk/harlowcarr
Constable Burton Gardens www.constableburtongardens.co.uk
Brontë Parsonage Museum www.bronte.info
Ingleborough Cave www.ingleboroughcave.co.uk
The Teapottery www.teapottery.co.uk
Settle Carlisle Railway www.settle-carlisle.co.uk
Lightwater Valley www.lightwatervalley.co.uk
Fountains Abbey www.fountainsabbey.org.uk
Ingleton Waterfalls Trail www.ingletonwaterfallstrail.co.uk
White Scar Cave www.whitescarcave.co.uk
W.R. Outhwaite & Son, Ropemakers www.ropemakers.com
The Bowes Museum www.thebowesmuseum.org.uk
Durham Cathedral www.durhamcathedral.co.uk
Wensleydale Railway www.wensleydalerailway.com
Swaledale Museum www.swaledalemuseum.org
Black Sheep Brewery www.blacksheepbrewery.co.uk
Wensleydale Creamery www.wensleydale.co.uk
Gale Mill www.galemill.org.uk
Swaledale Woollens www.swaledalewoollens.co.uk